October 13, 2008 at 12:47 pm | Posted in Allison, School | 5 Comments
Tags: ,

Allison had her first day of speech class today!

Her backpack is almost bigger than her!!!

The bus picks her up right at the end of our driveway.  She was a little tentative getting on and seemed a bit scared, but she didn’t cry and said “see ya” after I buckled her up and was walking off the bus.

Her teacher called me after class was over while Allison was on the way home.  She said she did great.  She had to coax her to use her words a lot (no big surprise!).  Many times when I ask Allison to use her words she will tell me “no” or “shhh!”.   She did the same to her teacher. 🙂  But her teacher said she did say the word for what she wanted in the end.  This class started at the beginning of the school year but Allison could not attend until she turned 3.  So the other 3 kids (all boys!) in her class have been going for over a month now.  The teacher said she thought she might have to modify things somewhat for Allison since it was her first day but she didn’t have to at all.  Allison did all that was expected of her.   It is SO sweet!!!

When the bus dropped her off, the bus driver said she did just fine!  Allison greeted me with a smile.   I am so relieved.  I didn’t really think she would cry but I wasn’t sure.  I didn’t sleep very good the last few hours this morning worrying about her first day.  I should have just slept – everything was fine. 🙂

I spent part of the 2 hours she was gone on the computer (of course!), part of the time cleaning up, and the rest of the time playing a game with Lindsey.  It was a very relaxing 2 hours. 🙂

Now Lindsey is off to school and I’m ready to put Allison down for her nap.  I am loving this new lifestyle. 🙂  I love my girls, they are a joy, but the break is wonderful!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Glad you’re all off to a great start.

    My goodness! That backpack looks massive on her :0)

  2. Hi Eileen.

    Isn’t the first day hard? Bruce is 2 and is in speech and occupational therapy at a public school. (He turns 3 in Dec and they’re going to be testing him soon to see if he still qualifies at 3 for the services). There are 8 boys and 1 girl in his class. When I dropped him off the first day last April I actually stayed in my car in the parking lot with the teacher’s knowledge because we didn’t know how he was going to react. He did great just like Allison and loves going every Weds and Fri morning for those 2 hours. I use the time to do a little grocery shopping, knitting or catching up on my reading (his school is far enough away that I don’t want to waste the gas to go home and then drive back a couple of hours later).

    I agree with you. Love Bruce a lot but yes, the break is nice.

    Take Care.

    Linda

  3. Allison looks very happy to be going to school. I’m glad she didn’t cry and you got some stuff done. Claire turns 4 tomorrow! It’s killing me!!!
    She does love her bed-time Bible stories. I think my very political 13 year old set her straight in his way of thinking!

    Keri

  4. Eilene,

    It is a busy world you are in!

    Love the back pack picts at the post below!

  5. Impressive!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

