Books

February 14, 2009 at 10:04 am | Posted in Reading | 4 Comments

Thanks to everyone who commented on my last post!  I did read some really good books since I wrote that.   Responding to the comments:

Robin:  I haven’t read Silent Tears yet but a friend of mine has the book and is going to loan it to me when she gets it back from the last person she lent it to.

Keri:  No problem about the Christmas cards!  Every year I debate whether I should just skip it that year and save myself the stress.  I did skip the year we brought Allison home and nothing bad happened. LOL   Strep twice?  Yikes!  Lindsey had strep/scarlet fever last month, and now she is sick again with a bad cough and fever (although the fever is finally gone this morning, the cough remains).   I haven’t read the books you mentioned – Beverly Lewis is not really my style and The Shack doesn’t appeal to me either.  But thanks anyway!

Chris:  Thanks again for the award!

Michelle:  I did read the Twilight series last year.  I really liked the first book in the series but liked each subsequent book less and less and then didn’t even finish the final book!  I think I just got tired of the whole storyline.  These are not typically my type of books at all – I have read a few fantasy or sci-fi books that I have liked, but for the most part I don’t like that genre at all, and after the last sci-fi I tried to read for a book club (Auralia’s Colors by Jeffery Overstreet) I decided I’m done with that genre totally.   But thanks for the suggestions!

Kristen:  I heard such good things about those books but I tried the first one and couldn’t get into it.  I was disappointed because so many reviewers loved the books.

Books I have read and loved since that post:

Time of My Life by Allison Winn Scotch 5/5

Love the One You’re With by Emily Giffin 5/5

Where Do I Go? by Neta Jackson – author of the Yada Yada books, first in a new series, loved it 5/5

The Year of Fog by Michelle Richmond 4.5/5

Testimony by Anita Shreve 4/5

And 2 books I read but didn’t care for too much:

The Doctor’s Wife by Elizabeth Brundage 2/5

Change of Heart by Jodi Picoult 3/5

I just started The Diplomat’s Wife by Pam Jenoff and it’s really good so far.  I read her first book, The Kommandant’s Girl last year and really enjoyed that one.   I’m going to the libary later today, yea! :-)

Have a great weekend everyone!

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks like you’ve got your reading groove back!!! :) have a good weekend.

  2. hi eileen,
    i think i’ve written you before, i used to live nextdoor to the wild kunstman boys growing up, and i feel in many way we are kindred spirits!
    i, too, love to read. have you by chance read safely home by randy alcorn? it’s really great (about china, fiction) and also heavenly man, a biography about a chinese believer who is persecuted for his faith.
    three cups of tea is pretty amazing, too.
    wild swans by jung chang is long, but it is her memoir of three generations of women in china. fasinating account of the rise of communism. i just bought her book on mao last week. it looks reeeeeeally long, but interesting. it’s called one of the most comprehensive books on mao ever written.
    hope the family is great, tell the guys kim hollis said hi, and give jack and sharon our love. would love to hear how they are doing. i also lost their address, so if you have a moment to shoot it to me that would be great. and visit my blog, too, i’ve been at it for about a month now. have a blessed week.

  3. I’ve considered checking out The Doctor’s Wife a time or two at the library, I’m glad I didn’t now. I didn’t like Change of Heart too much either.

    You’ve got some books here I haven’t read yet, I’m going to have to go look them up now!

  4. Hey Eilene,
    I LOVE to read . . . sometimes a book a day for me (of course on that day, nothing gets done and we order pizza for dinner and i’m cranky the next day cause i was up till 4am)!!
    Have you ready anything by T. Davis Bunn?? He’s one of my favorites!! The Book Of Hours is great, and his two most recent ones are really good, too! They are My Soul To Keep and All Through The Night. I love his books because they are all very different! He also is starting his second series with Jenette Oke and i think he has another new one coming out in April. enjoy!!
    Go Rams:-)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

