I Need a Good Book to Read!!!

January 13, 2009 at 9:28 am | Posted in Reading | 6 Comments

It’s a new year, 2009, almost halfway through January already and I have only finished ONE book – and I didn’t even like it very much!  I am in a reading slump.  I have tried to get into at least 5 books since finishing the one, and I didn’t like any of them.   HELP!

The book I did manage to finish this month is Nice to Come Home To by Rebecca Flowers.  At about 1/3 of the way into it, I almost put it down. It was okay but nothing special.  But then it started to interest me more so I kept going.  But then again at about the 2/3 point, it went back to being just okay, but I wasn’t going to put it down with only 1/3 left.  I rated it a 3/5.

I just started The Widow’s War by Sally Gunning.   I’m on Chapter 5 – I can’t tell yet if I like this book or not.  I will give it a little more time.

In my TBR stack next to my bed (all library books of course!) I have:

Two for the Dough by Stephanie Evanovich – I read the first book in the series last month – felt it was good enough to continue with the series for now but this book is not calling out to me to be read right now.

The Doctor’s Wife by Elizabeth Brundage

Broken Angel by Sigmund Brouwer

Tiki:  My Life in the Game and Beyond by Tiki Barber – saw this one on the new books shelf and just decided to grab it

I’m headed to the library this morning (in the cold, brrrr!) to pick up these 2 books that are in from on hold:

Prints Charming by Rebecca Seitz

Time of My Life byAllison Winn Scotch

And this one is in transit, not sure if it will be at the library yet when I get there this morning:

You Had Me at Goodbye by Tracey Bateman – I loved her “Claire” series but wasn’t as crazy about the first book in this one, the Drama Queen Series  (Catch a Rising Star) – I liked it enough to read the whole thing, but it wasn’t as good as the Claire books.

I also have 2 non-fiction books in from on hold that I will be picking up:  Two at a Time Socks by Melissa Morgan-Oakes and Lick the Sugar Habit by Nancy Appleton.

I read 88 books last year and I was hoping to top that total this year, but at the rate I’m going to so far, it’s not going to happen!  I hate not having a great book in progress!!!!

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi Eileen and Happy New Year!

    Have you read Silent Tears? Its a great book…sad but good!

    Hugs,
    Robin

  2. First of all, I wanted to apologize for not getting my Christmas cards out this year. Laura had strep twice and the boys were gone with their academic team meets so much that I didn’t get a picture done in time.
    I just read the Beverly Lewis series that starts with The Parting. Right now I am reading The Shack. You have probably read those though!

    Keri

  3. I haven’t taken time to read in so very long, and I love to read. Life has just gotten so busy. I left you an award on my blog. I will definitely not be offended if you do not do this, as I know how busy you are–just want you to know how much I enjoy your blog.

  4. Have you ever considered reading super-natural books? I was in a reading slump this past summer when I finally picked up the Twilight books. Not the best writing, but I blasted through all 4 books in 5 days. That set me on the path then I found the True Blood: Sookie Stackhouse series… great books. Now I am reading about werewolves… In between the crazy sets I have managed to read the more normal books too. Sometimes it takes a veer off of the norm to get your reading self back.

  5. Hi Eileen,

    I absolutely love to read too. I just finished two books that I just adored. Loved Walked in and Belong to Me, both by Marisa De Los Santos. I enjoy looking at your recommendations as I am always on the hunt for a good read:)

  6. Wow, you read books like I do! I always have a stack from the library and, at least, 3 going at the same time LOL I didn’t think anyone else read like me. I’m pretty bored with my selections as well right now. Although I have the Ted Dekker book Kiss that I just started and once I get going on that one, hopefully, I’ll like it. SO long as it’s not like House I’ll be good LOL


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

