Fall Into Reading Wrap-up

December 22, 2008 at 7:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Popping back in quickly to post my wrap-up – then back to getting ready for Christmas!!!

Here are my answers to  Katrina’s suggested questions about the books for the wrap-up:

  • Did you finish reading all the books on your fall reading list? If not, why not? - I read or at least tried to read every book on my list except A Midwife’s Story by Penny Armstrong.  I always check to make sure my library has a book before I put it on my To-Be-Read list, but I guess from the time I put it on my list until the time I wanted to check it out, they got rid of the book.
  • Did you stick to your original goals or did you change your list as you went along? I didn’t change any of the books on my list.
  • What was your favorite book that you read this fall? Least favorite? Why? Favorite fiction (I read 3/5 on my list) is a toss-up between Winter Haven and Summer Snow – I think I would give the edge to Summer Snow.  My favorite non-fiction (only read 2/5) is definitely The Non-Runners Marathon Guide for Women by Dawn Dais.
  • Did you discover a new author or genre this fall? Dawn Dais is an author I didn’t know about.  I never read a book about running a marathon. Did you love them? YES! She is so funny.
  • Did you learn something new because of the Fall Into Reading challenge — something about reading, or yourself, or a topic you read about? - I learned a lot about how to prepare to run a marathon and how to laugh about it. :-)
  • What was your favorite thing about the Fall Into Reading challenge? – Probably getting myself to read a few books from my 2007 TBR list.
  • Would you like to participate in another challenge here this spring? - YES!

The books I finished:

Winter Haven by Athol Dickson 5/5

Summer Snow by Nicole Baart 5/5

Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult 4.5/5

The Non-Runner’s Marathon Guide for Women by Dawn Dais 5/5

The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by Anne Fadiman 4/5

The ones I couldn’t get into:

The Tenth Gift by Jane Johnson

A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly

Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall (sorry Jane! I don’t know if I wasn’t in the right mood or what, but it was just so slow and didn’t grab me – I’m sure it’s a wonderful book!)

The Year of Living Biblically by A.M. Jacobs

The one my library didn’t have:

A Midwife’s Storyby Penny Armstrong

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations on what you accomplished during the challenge! I have The Spirit.. in my TBR pile. I hope it was good!

  2. Great Job. Athol Dickinson is a “new to me” author this fall. Enjoyed the 2 books I read. It took me two tries to finish A Northern Light, liked it once I finally got into it!

  3. [...] Sunny (That Book Addiction)73. Chan74. Jaime (Confessions of a Bibliophile)75. Eileen76. Annaliese (storyengineer)77. Tara78. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)79. Mimi B (Woven By Words)80. [...]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

